IMG_8456 copy

Earlier this week I was out of town with 15 family members…yep 15.  For three generations my family has been blessed to have a somewhat close mountain cabin to visit, and the tradition continued this summer.  It is probably my favorite place on earth.  The cabin has basically remained unchanged since I was little, save for a few newer (not new!) couches.  The dining table seats at least 25, the cabin sleeps 24, and there are 2,700+ acres to explore.

Knowing I’d have a captive audience I decided to take a few Trader Joe’s products up for taste testing.  It was highly unscientific taste testing!  One night a bunch of us were outside either playing Scrabble or Apples to Apples and I said “want to try some pickle popcorn?”

10-ish family members tried the pickle popcorn, and the average ave was under 14, with a few adults thrown in.  The overwhelming response was “I like it!”  Then I’d ask, “Would you buy this over other more traditional flavors of popcorn?”  The answer from all but one little cousin was no.  So it was liked and everyone was happy to try it, but it wouldn’t be a staple purchase.  I think it was more of a novelty.

I asked a few little cousins to describe it and they said:

“It’s really pickley”

“It’d be good with a hamburger if you’re out of pickles”

“It tastes like a dill pickle and popcorn had a baby”

It really does taste like a dill pickle!  For me the upside of this snack is that a little goes a long way.  I don’t want to sit down and eat the whole bag (the same can’t be said for other varieties of TJ’s popcorn).  A little bowl is just right to snack on and at $1.99 it will be purchased once in a while.

As a family we’re giving this product a solid 7 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Pickle Popcorn

Leave a comment